Saturday, July 2, 2011

Scotiabank Giller Prize

For those of you who have never heard of the Scotiabank Giller Prize here is a little blog post about what it is, who it is named for, and what authors it is awarded to.

Jack Rabinovitch founded The Giller Prize in 1994 in honour of his late wife Doris Giller, an outstanding literary journalist who died of cancer in April 1993. Mr. Rabinovitch and several friends (most notably the late Mordecai Richler, author Alice Munro, and academic David Staines) helped to build and create what we now call The Scotiabank Giller Prize. In 2005, Scotiabank joined forces with The Giller Prize to help celebrat literacy and to showcase great Canadian fiction year after year. 

CBC has been the offical broadcast partner (and will continue to be until 2015) and they air the ceremony annually in November. Each year there are different jury members who get the final say, but as a Canadian reader you have the option to Guess the Giller for the chance to win prizes (last year the winner took home tickets to the upcoming 2011 Scotiabank Giller Gala and more).

You can follow all the latest news for The Giller on twitter @GillerPrize or on the official website.

Find the lists of Past Winners to see what books you may have missed reading. 

Right now I have a copy of last year's winning novel, The Sentimentalists by Johanna Skibsrud (which I won on Twitter from @indigogreenroom and it's even a signed copy!)

*All information for this post has been found on The Scotiabank Giller Prize website and all credit goes to them for everything stated above. I just felt this was an amazing thing to promote for Canadian Literacy and to award some of the top Canadian authors out there.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I read every comment and try to reply to them all. Thanks for visiting my little piece of the blogosphere.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...