Thursday, August 4, 2011

Scotiabank Giller Prize 2011Contest!

This year CBC Books is hosting a contest where you can cast a vote for the book you think should be on the Scotiabank Giller Prize 2011 longlist. You can click here to see all of the eligible books. And then you can click here to cast your vote. Contest ends mdnight on August 28th. The official longlist will be announced on September 6th. There are some amazing prizes to be won, so head on over and cast your vote now! I hope you will all take the opportunity to help choose which books should be recognized here in Canada (I would participate, but I work for one of the major sponsors and just found out I'm not eligible *sigh*). There are so many great authors who need to be recognized!

The 2011 Scotiabank Giller Prize Jury is made up of American author and educator Howard Norman, Canadian novelist and short story writer Annabel Lyon, and Scottish writer and novelist Andrew O'Hagan.


The Scotiabank Giller Prize awards $50,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English and $5,000 to each of the finalists. The award was established in1994 by Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller. In September 2005, Scotiabank became the first ever co-sponsor of Canada’s richest literary award for fiction. Under the agreement, the prize became known as the Scotiabank Giller Prize. The prize is now in its 18th year.

Longlist announcement - September 6, 2011
Shortlist announcement - October 4, 2011
Winner announcement - November 8, 2011

No comments:

Post a Comment

I read every comment and try to reply to them all. Thanks for visiting my little piece of the blogosphere.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...