Saturday, October 8, 2011

2011 Scotiabank Giller Prize Shortlist Announced

The 2011 Scotiabank Giller Prize list consisted of 143 books from 55 different publishing houses across Canada. It was then shortened down to 17 books for the longlist and finally on October 4th, it was down to the six finalists listed below. This is the 18th year for the prize. You can read my previous post here that explains what the Scotiabank Giller Prize is all about.

The 2011 Scotiabank Giller Prize finalists are: 
For the eighth year in a row, the Scotiabank Giller Prize finalists will read from their nominated books at IFOA’s Closing Night on Saturday, October 29th at 8:00 p.m. For more information, please click here.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize awards $50,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English and $5,000 to each of the finalists.  The Scotiabank Giller Prize is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch.

For More Info:

1 comment:

  1. Hi. I'm new at your blog. I like your posts. Nice to know you. Thanks :)



I read every comment and try to reply to them all. Thanks for visiting my little piece of the blogosphere.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...