Monday, August 14, 2017


Corliss (Girls of Spindrift #1) by V.C. Andrews
Published: June 12, 2017
Publisher: Pocket Star Ebook
Received: from publisher for honest review
Find Online: Amazon | Goodreads

V.C. Andrews®, the legendary New York Times bestselling author of Flowers in the Attic and My Sweet Audrina, delights readers Book One of the Girls of Spindrift, CORLISS

Here begins a haunting new series featuring highly intelligent teenage girls who struggle to survive a specialized high school and find their place in a world that doesn’t understand them. Such is the burden of being brilliant. 

Corliss is not like the other girls at her Los Angeles high school. Incredibly intelligent, shy, and a loner, she has difficultly in fitting in. What’s worse, a clique of girls is out to get her because she’s not down with their games.

On the night of a school party, her refusal to take drugs with the girls leads them to take matters into their own hands—spiking her drink. Quickly, Corliss’s entire life is turned upside down and no one—not even the handsome valedictorian who had agreed to go out with her—looks at her the same way. Just when she’s wondering if she’ll be able to return to her high school, someone mentions a new place: Spindrift. Could that be her way out?

Note: The four Girls of Spindrift e-novellas together form a prequel for Bittersweet Dreams—available now!

Since this is one of four novellas that lead up to the book Bittersweet Dreams, it's not fleshed out as much as a normal length book would, but just enough backstory on Corliss to understand why she is at her new school and to understand what happened to her before she went there. I really like the idea that these girls are STEM girls and we'll get to learn about four of them. Corliss has to deal with mean girls and their horrible treatment of her - spiking her drink at a school function, leaving her looking like she's trouble when she's really the good girl. I have not yet read Bittersweet Dreams, but think once I've read the four novellas that I will give it a try! 

This buildup using novellas to explore characters before the final full length story, reminds me of V.C. Andrews' Orphans series, Wildflowers series, and Shooting Stars series.

Donna (Girls of Spindrift #2) by V.C. Andrews
Published: August 14, 2017
Publisher: Pocket Star Ebook
Received: from publisher for honest review
Find Online: Amazon | Goodreads

The second book in The Girls of Spindrift series is DONNA

Being gifted is not something Donna ever wanted. It’s difficult enough to have a Latino father and Irish mother, and her genius only separates her even more from the other girls. They don’t say it, but they blame her for everything that goes wrong, just because she’s different.

And on the precise day she tries her hardest to fit in, everything turns out a disaster. A fight breaks out, and somehow Donna ends up in the middle. It’s not her fault, but it’s her word against theirs, and this time, the other girls aren’t going to stay quiet. The only solution might be to escape to the mysterious school her counselor is telling her about: Spindrift.  

Note: The four Girls of Spindrift e-novellas together form a prequel for Bittersweet Dreams—available now!

The thing that these girls have in common is their intelligence and the fact that they get picked on. Interesting how much they just try to either fit in or not be noticed. It saddens me that they get bullied because they are smart, but I know that is a jealousy thing on the others' part. I'm looking forward to seeing what happens to the girls when the reach this new school - Spindrift.

Girls of Spindrift Giveaway: Enter to win one paperback copy of Bittersweet Dreams! (The four Girls of Spindrift e-novellas together form a prequel for Bittersweet Dreams.) U.S. only.

Bittersweet Dreams by V.C. Andrews
Published: October 1, 2015
Publisher: Pocket Books
Pages: 371
Find Online: Amazon | Goodreads

Mayfair Cummings is young, beautiful, and brilliant. But her intelligence makes her the outcast of both the private school she attends and the broken family she hopes to salvage. When she catches the eye of both a popular senior and her handsome English teacher, not even her brilliant mind can help her navigate the explosive new relationships she is forming, or a scandal that is brewing…

About the author: 
V.C. Andrews® has been a bestselling phenomenon since the publication of her classic Flowers in the Attic. That blockbuster novel began her renowned Dollanganger family saga, which includes Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, Seeds of Yesterday, and Garden of Shadows. Since then, readers have been captivated by more than seventy novels in V.C. Andrews’s bestselling series. V.C. Andrews’s novels have sold more than 106 million copies.


  1. I hadn't heard of these books before, but the covers are so beautiful! Thanks for sharing these mini reviews.

    1. They are pretty and I cannot wait until I see more.


I read every comment and try to reply to them all. Thanks for visiting my little piece of the blogosphere.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...